Blackboard Collaborate Ultra (Recording) - Recovering Deleted Recordings

University of Wisconsin System (including Madison) users who wish to recover a Blackboard Collaborate Ultra recording deleted from Blackboard's servers should submit a ticket to Blackboard Collaborate Support for assistance. Blackboard retains backups for 30 days, although they do not guarantee that they can retrieve any specific recording.

To do this, create a case with Blackboard Support at: Behind the Blackboard

It would be helpful to provide Blackboard Support with the following information:

• Login Group: "UWEX-Manager-Ultra"
• SAS User Name: typically "UWEX-ULTRA_lti_YOURCAMPUS_Canvas" ex: UWEX-ULTRA_lti_Milwaukee_Canvas
• Session Name: the title of the meeting/session in Collaborate Ultra
• Date of Recording: date the recording started
• Date of Deletion: the date the recording was deleted

Users who need assistance gathering this information should contact their campus Blackboard Collaborate administrator, who may contact the UW System Digital Learning Environment team.

Please note: University of Wisconsin System copies many Blackboard Collaborate Ultra recordings to Kaltura in accordance with the Media Management Practices, reducing the need to recover recordings from Blackboard's servers.

If a recording was deleted automatically according to UWS's Media Management Practices and then recovered by Blackboard Support, the user should download a local copy of the recording immediately, because the automatic process will delete the recording again.




Keywords:collaborate, webconference, webconferencing, web conference, web conferencing, recording, video, deletion, delete, archive   Doc ID:107723
Owner:Thomas A.Group:UW System Administration DLE
Created:2020-12-09 13:39 CSTUpdated:2020-12-14 14:46 CST
Sites:UW Parkside, UW Platteville, UW Stout, UW System Administration DLE, UW-La Crosse
Feedback:  0   0