Blackboard Collaborate Ultra – Media Management Process
The UWS Media Management process applies to Canvas-integrated instances of Collaborate Ultra only. Recordings created via the My Wisconsin Portal-integrated instance of Collaborate Ultra will not be affected by this process.
Recordings created 08/01/2020 – 12/31/2020 [Fall 2020]
- Recordings created between 08/01/2020 and 12/31/2020 that were set to allow public access (the default setting) have been copied to Kaltura.
[Important: Recordings set to not allow public access cannot be exported to Kaltura and will be deleted from Blackboard's servers 45 days after creation. Instructors who wish to retain recordings originally set to not allow public access should change that setting before the 45 day retention period is up.]
- Fall 2020 Ultra recordings copied into Kaltura were deleted from Blackboard’s servers on 01/04/2021.
- Users with Teacher-based roles will be given ownership of copied recordings in Kaltura through a Kaltura Group created for instructors of that specific course. Teachers will then be able to share the recordings with students like any other Kaltura video.
Recordings created on or after 01/04/2021
- Recordings created on or after 01/04/2021 and set to allow public access (the default setting) will be copied to Kaltura within 24 hours.
- Original recordings will be deleted from Blackboard's servers 45 days after creation.
For more information, see the following KB resource: Recovering Deleted Recordings.
How to share Ultra recordings after they are copied to Kaltura
How to enable Media Gallery in a Canvas Course
How to configure Media Gallery
Embed Kaltura Media in Course Content
Inserting Kaltura videos in Canvas
How to create a Kaltura Playlist